Samar Leyte Trippers Blog site is about promoting the island of Samar and Leyte, a travel guide for tourist who wants to experience the adventure here in the island of Samar and Leyte. An adventurer by nature, I created the blog because i was amazed how beautiful these islands are some hidden and undiscovered. If you are tired of the same outdoor activities and got the right budget for an extreme adventure, come join us! we would love to share the experience.
We will provide info's about top vacation spots

We Guide You Decide.

About Samar:

      Samar, formerly Western Samar, is a province in the Philippines located in the Eastern Visayas region. Its capital is Catbalogan City and covers the western portion of Samar island as well as several islands in the Samar Sea located to the west of the mainland. Catbalogan City and Calbayog City, two of the three cities of Samar Island, are located in the province of Samar. Bordering the province to the north is Northern Samar and to the east is Eastern Samar. Samar is connected to Leyte via the San Juanico Bridge, which spans the San Juanico Strait, the narrowest strait in the country. To the south of the province is the Leyte Gulf. Samar Al Safar is also referred to the season, Summer.

About Leyte:

       Leyte. The island measures about 180 km (110 mi) north-south and about 65 km (40 mi) at its widest point. In the north it nearly joins Samar, separated by the San Juanico Strait, which becomes as narrow as 2 km (1.2 mi) in some places. The island province of Biliran is also to the north of Leyte and is joined to Leyte island by a bridge across the narrow Biliran Strait. To the south Leyte is separated from Mindanao by the Surigao Strait. To the east, Leyte is somewhat "set back" from the Philippine Sea of the Pacific Ocean, Samar to the northeast and Dinagat to the southeast forming the Leyte Gulf. To the west are Cebu and Bohol.

Leyte is mostly heavily forested and mountainous, but the Leyte Valley in the northeast has much agriculture.

Politically, the island is divided into two provinces: Leyte and Southern Leyte. Southern Leyte is in the south and includes the island of Panaon, while Biliran Island, a separate island which used to be a part of Leyte province, is to the north and an own province: Biliran Province.

The chief cities of Leyte are Tacloban City, on the eastern shore at the northwest corner of Leyte Gulf, and Ormoc City, on the west coast.

Leyte today is notable for the geothermal electric power plants near Ormoc.

However, Leyte is most famous for its role in the reconquest of the Philippines in the World War II. On 20 October 1944, General Douglas MacArthur waded ashore on Leyte, saying "I have returned". However, the Japanese did not give up so easily, as the ensuing Battle of Leyte proved, and convergence of naval forces resulted in the four-day Battle of Leyte Gulf, the largest naval battle in history.


We do not own some of the pictures used in this Blog, if you own one of these pictures and want them removed, please contact us and we will remove them immediately

Sign up for FREE Updates.
We do not own some of the pictures and materials used in this blog site. These materials came from different sources on the world wide web.
If you have complaint on using your material, kindly contact me, and prove that you own that material, so that we can credit for your work or remove them if you wish.
myfreecopyright.com registered & protected
Templated by Blogger Items